2.1 Native Support not working

Hey I am fairly new to Ardour, music editing, and OSX but from what I’ve done with Ardour 2.05 and Mac I am quite happy. However, I downloaded the 2.1 package which is supposed to have native OSX support but when I copied Ardour2 from the 2.1 mount, it didnt seem to upgrade Ardour properly. I double clicked the Ardour link in Applications and directly from the mounted 2.1 package, and it loaded X11 started up and then Ardour inside of it. I am not sure what I did wrong. Do I have to uninstall the old Ardour? I am new to Mac so what files do I have to remove if I want to do a complete uninstall of Ardour2.05? Otherwise I really like your product so far! Thank you!

Also, even though I am running it through X11, it says under the about menu that it is Ardour 2.1 so I guess it is 2.1 but running through X11? I’m sorry if this is a really stupid question, like there’s some option I have to change or something.

2.1? The link on the announcement page for 2.1 doesn’t go anywhere. 2.05 is still the last listed stable release on the downloads page.

Nothing on the website has provided a link to a native OS X package yet. There has been mention that they exist and are being tested. When we believe they are ready, we will announce it very clearly.

I have updated the link on the download page. The link on the announcement/front page seems functional from here.

To uninstall Ardour, just move Ardour2.app to the trash. Ardour2.app will be wherever you put it, and is represented by the Ardour red icon/logo.

OK. Thanks.

You might stop by the chat room #ardour on irc.freenode.net. Observe the topic in the chatroom

~bennyp

I tried installing v2.1 on my laptop (OSX10.4.10) but it wants Jack. Did I misunderstand, I thought Jack & X11 were lumped in with this.

Thank you.

There are two “All in one” packages (for PPC and Intel), I believe these have everything required.

/J\