No sound after crash (focusrite 18i20)

Hey,

I’m using ubuntu studio 16.04 with the preinstalled ardour and Qjackctl versions. but had the same problem on previous releases:

Everything works out of the box, but then at some point during use (sometimes months after install) qjackct crashes. When i restart the program everything works - i see the levels in ardour, can record etc. - but there is no sound coming out of the focusrite. I tried ardour with alsa only but with the same results. I reinstalled alsa, jack and even pulseaudio but no change.

What bugs me is the lack of error messages. Qjackctl just runs without any complaint.

I know this is all very vague but i’m just a total newb.

Thanks in advance for any help,

A

This would likely be a problem with the device driver interactions with your Focusrite device, rather than anything to do with Ardour or JACK.

Try using the builtin audio device to verify that Ardour still works.

Thanks Paul,
Using the internal sound card works, i hear sound again. I also put the focusrite on factory reset (using mix control on windows) but no help there. So where do i go from here?

There are reports of USB audio devices not working properly on Ubuntu 16.04. This is from a post on linuxmusicians.com:

Looks like this bug is present only in regular Ubuntu
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1574079
Here is workaround
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? … st13479525

To sum up, kill the process fwupd and remove the package by typing ‘sudo apt-get remove fwupd’. I have no first-hand experience with this. I’m just passing along information, but it is probably worth a shot to see if this fixes your issue given there have been a number of people reporting similar problems.

Hey GuntherT,

Sorry, your idea didnt work. I had the problem with previous versions aswell. But now i have a few error messages (/var/log/syslog):