Thank you for the "New patch selector dialog for MIDI tracks"

This New Features helps me to understand midi better.

My background is in recording audio. The terms patch, banks in midi are totally strange to me. The only thing I understand is the 16 program channels. But now, with the new features added in Ardour 5.12 the “New patch selector dialog for MIDI tracks”, I’m very well aware of what wonderful features Midi has.

This has also impressed me with the built-in General MIDI Synth. Always thought that these is a toys sound synth. But nothing is less true. This instrument sounds very good. The Patch selector allows you to open Patch Banks where I get more instruments. Many hiding under names like Pgm-1 to Pgm-128.

My question is, can we rename this Pgm’s? I also do not know what the function of MSB is?

Who made this beautiful General MIDI Synth in Ardour, I would like to thank you for his work. And how were the sounds made in General MIDI Synth? Are these samples?

Now I have no further need to work with A-Fluid plugin. Because this General MIDI Synth gives me enough instrument capabilities.

Greating Crojav

For various technical reasons (MIDI is early 80’s) General MIDI Instrument selection is organized in 16384 banks * 128 patches (sometimes called programs).
Since everything MIDI is 7bit, those 16K banks are two 7bit numbers: 7 Most Signification Bits (MSB) , 7 Least Significant Bits (LSB) 2^7 * 2^7 = 16384. times 2^7 patches ~ 2million total.

One motivation for this was that loading a new bank can take a very long time (think 80’s floppy disks or ROM cartridges), but switching between the patches in a bank should be instantaneous when playing. For that reason some instrument-patches are duplicated across banks.

Fast forward to 2017 and you can load gigabytes of samples into RAM, switch between banks in an instant and most synths can also use different banks per MIDI-channel…