A video tutorial series for beginners

Hi everyone,
I’ve just begun a series of video tutorials on the basics of Ardour - I’ve posted the first one at http://vimeo.com/2867399

So far I have planned four, and they should hopefully be posted every week - time permitting

The episodes will be

1. Getting Audio Into Ardour
  2. Moving and Routing Audio Around (Editing and Mixing)
  3. Using JACK to route audio from JACK aware apps, and controlling them with the jack/ardour transport control (might show how to use MIDI TIME CODE to control ardour as well)
  4. Exporting a session/range and setting range markers for export to CD/burning to CD

Would appreciate any feedback as I’ve never done anything like this before but I thought it about high time I got my butt into gear and gave something back to the ardour community.

One issue in particular I’d like feedback on is the video quality/format. I chose vimeo for HD purposes, but my screen is 1280x1024 whereas vimeo only supports widescreen 1280x720 (16:9) - or 640x480 (4:3) which I feel is too small o see what’s going on. So you will notice in the tutorial the screen is stretched but still watchable. I can capture a portion of the screen in the native 1280x720 giving a really crisp picture - but when the screen follows the mouse it tends to be a little jerky and I think might cause motion sickness - plus one doesn’t get the whole layout in view.
So there lies my predicament - preferences would be appreciated

Thanks,
Solv

Thanks for all the comments:

I agree about trimming it down - for the next one I will try to be a little more prepared

I’m running the Kwin with compositing so it may be the reason switching windows skips a little…