How to configure ardour to record with monitoring

I’m a total novice with ardour and could use some help in configuring a session to work to both record and function as a PA. I will be monitoring based on speaker output, not headphones. Please forgive my “language”, I’m not particularly up on proper terminology.

My sound card is an MAudio Delta 1010 which does support hardware monitoring, but I need to be able to control the volume of, and mute, specific sound sources. I assume that hardware monitoring is not directly controllable from ardour.

I can record and I can play the recording through the speakers. When I create a session, if I use the “advanced options” and check the ‘monitor’ box, I get a “monitor” track, which qjackctl shows as being connected to control inputs from ardour and to playback outlines 1 and 2.

But when I record, I get no sound through the speakers. And, when I play back the recording, both the master and monitor track have active “action” bars.

Thanks for your help.

Bob

you can set the output of each track to whatever you want and however many outs you want. If you are mixing with ardour’s mixer, you are going to want to set the master out to on out on the card and then plug that out into the PA. However, latency is going to be a BIG problem.

You can do hardware monitoring with envy24control.
See here:
http://alsa.opensrc.org/Envy24Control

You can also choose “Ardour does monitoring” in the options menu, but I’m not sure if this will help you.

Pablo.

I think you’ll have to use “Ardour does monitoring” if you want to
control the live mix with Ardour; if you use hardware monitoring,
you’ll have to use envy24control to do the live mix, and won’t
hear the effect of any plugins. You’d want to route Ardour’s master
bus to the PA, rather than the monitor outputs.