Sync Reason with Ardour

Hello,
I’m trying to get Propellerhead Reason into Ardour.
At the present I’ve got the whole instrument Reason tracks spread into the Ardour’s session and playing back Reason the sound is managed by Ardour.
What I would like to do now is being able to use Ardour as master, so when I press play in ardour, Reason will follow.
At the moment I’m studying how to connect Ardour MTCout to ReasonMTCin (if any).
Does anybody already did this and/or is there some tutorial, suggestion I can follow?

Thanks a lot in advance.
:slight_smile:

You might have better luck asking around Reason forums and such if it can handle syncing to incoming MTC. If it can, Ardour can certainly generate it, but how to connect them depends on your setup.

Seablade

Ok.
Seems Reason doesn’t manage MTC, just MIDI Clock Sync.
So I revert the question in:
Can Ardour produce MIDI Clock?

some days later

What I understand so far:
I’m the only one one in the world using Reason interested in switch to Ardour, but:

1. Ardour is not a Rewire application
  2. Reason is not a Jack application
  3. Reason do not manage MIDI Time Code
  4. Ardour do not manage Midi Clock

Final result: They cannot be synced.

From Reason Manual:
Reason always acts as a slave. That is, it receives MIDI Clock signals, it never transmits them.

From this post (https://ardour.org/node/2154) :
you cannot export JACK transport functionality to non-JACK apps. However, JACK apps work the same on OS X as on Linux. Its just you cannot, for example, start Ableton playing by pressing Ardour’s play button or vice versa. At least not with sample-synchronous precision. This is just because Live is not a JACK application.

From Linux Journal (http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/7796):