Exporting sessions...converting files...help!

*I’m a total noob here.

When I export a session as a WAV, the file seems totally useless. I can’t use audacity to convert it to an mp3 and it doesn’t play in anything I try to open it with. Am I missing something?

Well, for the problems you have been facing regarding the wave files and the mp3 ones. What you can really do is, firstly play the wave file in a software, which can play wave files as well. Then probably you’ll need a moniter recording software, I use the BitRope Recorder 1.3.13, what it does is records whatever’s playing in the background, make sure you turn your messengers to the offiline mode, cause if they make any sound that’s going to be recorded as well. And when you’re done, you’ll get an option to save the file in other extensions too.

Note: It is better if you put on headphones while you record the background music, it’ll help you figure out if there is any unwanted sounds recorded along with the song.I use the Klipsch headphones, when ever I’m working on some sound waves.
Cheers.
Gd day.

Really… you choose to spam software for the one platform that Ardour doesn’t run on in its forums huh? Not to mention you obviously don’t know the first thing about Jack and how it works given your advice:)

Seablade

Probably, what settings are you exporting at? Easiest way to see would be to post a screenshot via tinypic or whatever.

Seablade

i’m having the exact some problem, trying to open my files in itunes or audacity no luck so ill hang around this thread too

did you try to reimport in ardour to check it again ?

and what does the following terminal command say about this file:

sndfile-info your_wave_file

when i re-import the track into ardour it has no sound.

when i use that command it says:
Version : libsndfile-1.0.20

Error : Not able to open input file /home/caytee/nhlkj/export.
File : /home/caytee/nhlkj/export
Length : 4096
Error : psf_fread returned short count.