Newbie question about compiling plugins for OSX

Hey all.

I’m wanting to use Ardour for a remix project I have. So far, it seems promising. I have some questions about available plugins. Bear with me as I’m not new to mac, but am a complete newb where Linux/terminal is concerned.

The plugins page lists a bunch of plugin sites. I’ve had a look at a few of the recommended ones but they all seem to need to be compiled. I’m not quite sure what this means. I gather it’s a way of building the plugin into a usable state?

My questions are:

1. Why can’t these plugins be available already compiled?
  2. Are there compiled versions available? if so, where can I find them?
  3. If compiled versions aren’t available, could someone point me to a good, newb-friendly resource to learn a bit about compiling and how to do it.

Ardour looks very promising, so I’m hoping with a bit of info I can get some decent effects working.

Thanks in advance
Bart

@bkpr: On any distribution of Linux worth using Ardour on, almost all of those plugins are available as regular packages, waiting to be installed by that distribution’s package management tool (See the main menu on your desktop and find something like System -> Admin -> Add/Remove Software). On my system (which runs Fedora), the packages all have “ladspa” in the name, and I currently have these installed:

ladspa-rev-plugins-0.3.1-6.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-tap-plugins-0.7.0-7.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-swh-plugins-0.4.15-16.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-blop-plugins-0.2.8-9.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-vco-plugins-0.3.0-8.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-fil-plugins-0.3.0-2.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-caps-plugins-0.4.2-5.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-nova-plugins-0.2-1.fc12.ccrma.x86_64
ladspa-cmt-plugins-1.16-2.fc12.x86_64
ladspa-vocoder-plugins-0.3-1.fc12.ccrma.x86_64