adding plugins in OSX

I’m very new to ardour, and not a super computer geek, so be gentle.

I’m running Ardour on OSX and want to add autotalent LADSPA plugin. where would I find/create the directory to copy the plugin? i’ve got 3 different usr/lib/ directories and no ladspa directory. Do I need to install something to create that directory, it will not let me create my own…?

any help will be appreciated.

For OS X you can do one of a couple of things…

System wide installs of LADSPA plugins go in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/LADSPA

But if you want to, there is a folder in the Ardour.app bundle(Right click and click ‘Show Package Contents’) and you can copy it there if you only want it available for one install of Ardour(Useful for testing)

Seablade

I added it in that folder. I had to create the LADSPA folder…and it didn’t show up in ardour…is there something else i need to do?

What precisely did you add(filename and how/where you obtained it) and where precisely are you looking in Ardour?

Seablade

I am running ardour 2.8.11 on Leopard.

I am trying to add the autotalent.so plugin

I copied it to a new LADSPA folder in the plugins folder, and also tried adding it to the bundle.

I am completely new to ardour, so I have never installed any other plugins before…

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Shytor,

If you are on OSX, you might prefer to start with AudioUnits plugins.

AudioUnits are the 'native" plugin formats for OSX. There is a much wider range of plugins available, and they usually have a nice GUI that is easier to use than the generic sliders that LADSPA’s give you.

AudioUnits plugins often come with installers and/or better instructions than LADSPA plugins, so they are easier to install (it’s the same process for any AU plugin host, such as Logic or Garageband)