How to Set Up Monitoring Saffire Pro 24 for 4 Inputs

I’m completely new to audio recording. I have been able to set up a Saffire Pro 24 DSP and record to 4 tracks in Ardour, but I can’t figure out how to manipulate the blended sound and then play that back through the outputs. The Saffire box has the ability to route “DAW1” through “DAW8”, but those seem to be tied to the line inputs. I’m not sure if the Master track is designed for that purpose, or some other sort of track, or how to direct that to the output monitor on the Saffire (my headphones, or “Monitor 1”.

Any help would be appreciated! I’m reading the online manual, but just not getting enough basic information. I’ve ordered Home Recording for Musicians for Dummies. I’m a software developer, so computer savvy is not a problem – just understanding audio recording jargon, etc.

Just to be clear about what you want to do: I assume you want to monitor your mix as you are recording it and you are using Ardour 2.8? I will attempt to answer your question with the caveat that I might not know what I’m talking about. One thing that will work is to set Ardour to do the monitoring by selecting Options->Monitoring->Ardour does monitoring (perhaps it is set to “hardware does monitoring” now?).