An old cover recorded in 2002 - new mix with Harrison Mixbus Sep 2012

Hi,

This is something we recorded in our rehersal room 2002 I guess (don’t remember the exact year and date could be 2003). We used a 8 channel digital portastudio and used 4 mics on the drums, 1 mic each for bass, 2 guitar and vocal. Couple of days ago I did a new mix and used Harrison Mixbus 2.1 and the plugins I bought from linuxDSP (thanks for awesome plugins) and some other LV2 plugins. Here’s the result. You can do much better I guess, but I’m still learning to mix and learning new stuff everytime. Get ready for some rock-blues tune.

Before You Accuse Me

http://snd.sc/VNVVfp

//Tobbe

Attacks are wideband signals which means you can’t use an EQ on them, the only way to do it is with a compressor configured to act instantly and release quickly (probably around 20ms).

(with the caveat that I haven’t yet listened to the song)

Hi,

I used a Laney rig for the rhythm guitar. The guitar is a Ibanez R470 something lefthanded. I don’t remember what the model on Laney rig. I sold it back 2006 when I quit the band.

I don’t been able to fix that heavy attack on the solo guitar. I don’t know what EQ plugin you should use to fix it. I tried EQ10 but I can’t nail the frequenze that cause the attack.

//Tobbe

@GMaq: I find the line6 amps work best if I dial in a lot of overdrive / gain on the amp and then back off the volume on the guitar until its just sitting on that slightly overdriven tone - at that point I can get a lot of the expressiveness back that I’m used to with a real tube amp, but it doesn’t seem to respond the same way if I just use less gain on the amp instead. I guess it depends partly on the modelling they use and partly on the way the rest of the electronics in the box behaves.

Which version of the Line 6 stuff are you talking about? The new HD stuff is supposed to address a lot of that.

Hi,