Desktop for Audio Recording with Ardou on Linux

I pretend to assemble a new PC for audio recording and editing, also for photo editing, and my goal is to use Ubuntu 15.04 for this. I am not a professional, but I know that a semi-professional PC is affordable nowadays, even here in Brasil. I am wondering if anybody can help me with specifications and tips for hardwares. I already have an audio interface (M-audio Mobile-Pre). Thank you and sorry for the poor English.

The photop editing is the bit which puts more strain on system resources. I’ve spent over 10 years with a single-core Athlon system and it was sometimes tedious, but it always performed well enough in Ardour. Photo editing, be it in the Gimp or darktable, was a real drag in the end.
Now I’ve got a shiny new system and it’s a pleasure to use. It mostly comes down to how much you want to spend, even a simple desktop for maybe US$250 will be enough to run Ardour. For me, a quiet system was also important, and I’m really impressed by what I’ve got now, it’s almost inaudible!

It depends on what you plan to do. When I load about 9-10 instruments of Sonatina Orchestra into Ardour/linuxsampler, I run out of memory. But for most audio uses you should be fine with any current machine. Also maybe consider using an LTS version of Ubuntu. The other ones are not supported for a long time, and upgrades are not always painless. Or a specific Audio distro. I don’t know how easy it is for you to read Spanish, but the Argentina-based Musix distro is mostly done in that language.

@PeSoberbo
If you have some really new hardware, maybe
you dont get brand new driver for it ( multicore GPU-graphics, SSD and so on).
When you assemble your new PC, post us your hardware list!

Someone will give you advice im sure :slight_smile: