Using Carla and Ardour

I am a newb to Linux digital recording. I have plenty of experience with Windows and OSX but I’m chasing my tail here. I want to use my Windows VST instruments in Carla. I have a VST added to Carla. (FM8 synthesizer) I can open the GUI and play around with it but cannot get sound. I can record audio input (multi-track vocals) in Ardour and hear it playback and when I look at a track I can see the FM8 plugin there via Carla but have no idea how to get sound from it. Can someone give me a step-by-step guide on adding a track to Ardour, tying a Carla-based VSTi to it, recording it and playing back sound? I’d imagine this is asking a lot but it’s better than not asking at all. Thanks in advance for the help.

There is absolutely nothing to be gained from trying to use Windows plug-ins on linux. Even if they appear to work, the complexities of running software for a completely different OS is inevitably highly dependent on a lot of quirks, and therefore fundamentally less reliable / predictable than most of the native linux plug-ins (which some might say is actually quite an achievement in itself)

The best OS to use for Windows plug-ins is Windows (it comes free with most PCs) and now Ardour runs on Windows too - so if for some reason you must use Ardour, the best place to do so with Windows VSTs would be on Windows.
I’m not trying to be anti-linux or pro-windows, but believe me (as someone who develops professional audio software for - and uses - Linux, Windows and Mac) you will save yourself a lot of pain.

(You will also most likely find that any Windows plugins which rely on copy protection methods - especially hardware - will likely never (legitimately) work successfully and / or reliably on Linux)

2 Likes

You can try zynadsubfx, its amazing synth!!!
If you want, for instance triggger all 16 midi channels of that synth from
ardours 16 midi tracks, and load for every midi chan. separate programm/bank or fx. inZynaddsubfx!!!