How to properly drag mono regions to stereo track?

Hello.

I’m new to Ardour and I have just learned how to split a stereo track into two mono tracks (by choosing “make mono regions” and dragging them from the editor list), which is nice.

If I try to do the opposite, e.g. drag two mono regions to a stereo track, when I hit play only the left channel sounds. Everything gets sent to the left channel and nothing to the right.

How do I make it so that the first mono region I drag is the left channel and the the second one is the right?

Thank you

The normal way to create a stereo region in the first place is to create a stereo track, then record sound through the two inputs that you assigned to it. Those inputs will be the L and R channels of the stereo region created when you record.

The “Stem export” trick I described above would be to rescue yourself if you had accidentally recorded to two mono tracks, when you really meant use a stereo track, and is only to save you the trouble of a retake.

There are no email notifications. Some people use RSS, and old mid 2000’s technology that had nothing wrong with it except that nobody figured out how to monetize it. This site has an RSS feed.

You cannot take two mono regions and automagically combine them via dragging or similar operations to a stereo track.

If you want to work with stereo, then as anahata noted, use a stereo track, not two tracks.

Paul, that’s what I’m doing. I’m trying to use a stereo track instead of two mono tracks panned hard left and right.

By the way, how do you enable email notifications for replies on this forum? I haven’t got any since this thread started, and I created it myself

Paul, what can’t I do?

“Would it help if you routed the two mono tracks to a stereo bus?”
Doesn’t it require you to record first?

“What you still won’t be able to do is editing of the two tracks as a stereo region.”