Ardour + Soundcraft UI16

Has anyone used the Soundcraft UI16 (or UI12) with Ardour on Linux? If so, how is it?

Actually I’m now looking at Soundcraft in general. Their products seem more friendly to my limited budget. How is the quality in general? How well do their analog USB mixers work on Linux with JACK?

Soundcraft is generally good kit. I currently use one of their EPM8 mixers for live sound for a band. It packs a lot of functionality into a small space and has worked well for the few years I’ve had it.

I have no experience of their USB products, but the fact that they describe the UI range as cross platform and even mention Linux suggests that they are USB2 class compliant, though I’m not sure how far a generic USB sound device class goes toward controlling all the mixer functions.

I’d also be interested to know if anyone’s actually used one with Linux!

I looked at a review on the Thomann site (http://www.thomann.de/gb/soundcraft_ui16.htm) and the USB interface is only for the main stereo output and for a stereo playback input. I don’t know about you, but that means it loses my interest as a recording tool, though it still looks good as a live sound mixer.

It has WiFi and Ethernet for remote control via web browser on laptop or handheld device - dispensing with the physical controls explains how they can pack so much functionality into a small box at a good price. But if you’re looking for a USB multichannel audio interface, the Soundcraft UI12 or UI16 isn’t it.