VST

I have spent a few months now practicing with a few VST’s mostly free actually only dexed. It’s pretty easy to work with after learning the basics of synths, sure I can’ make anything great but I feel like a baby learning to crawl since I am a c programmer and not a musician at all.

This question that I have been wondering about is why are there so many VST especially ones with pretty hefty price tags.

Are the main differences just the preset sounds they make? I mean if you have a subtractive synth with the typical filters, ADSR nobs why so many different VST and so many prices?

It seems a lot is sold on features and samples but scratching all that, I mean great music was created with simple instruments like the early Moog synths which can be easily replicated in a mobile phone these days.

I would be quite interested to hear the comments on this. Obviously, in a pro environment, things like stability,ease of use, etc go a long way. Also high quality samples and presets and useful features. It seems though that what we think of as good sounds or samples are what we’ve been conditioned to like by the music that we’ve lived with… I believe Dexed is an emulation of the DX7.
Classic sounds but aren’t they really kind of ugly but they became ingrained in our conciousness in the 80’s. I’m sure a lot of people will disagree. I kind of agree that there’s a glut of vst synths. At least in Windows. If you were playing a gig 20 years ago you probably only had one synth and you probably had to make most of your own patches. I have the feeling that too many choices cause players to fiddle endlessly with sounds and it detracts from making music.
Sorry if a got a liitle bit away from the topic.