Getting the stuff started

I came across this site and was baffled because I didn’t know anything like this was going on in the Linux Community. I am an pro audio engineer and computer guru and figured I would post up and see if I could get some info and tips. I haven’t been able to get any version of Linux up on any of my systems. I was trying to use Ubuntu, but none of the Live CD’s will ever boot up. The one I would like to set up is a P3 550 Dell and I have the Onyx Satellite interface. I did get Dyne:bolic to run off the live CD but Im in the process of trying to learn how to install it onto the hard disk on an old compaq lappie to try it out. I have gone thru a lot of linux stuff and the way it operates and file structure still baffle me after about 2 years of trying. Just post what you can or what you guys are using so that I may have a starting point. I have Nuendo on the PC right now, Run Digital Performer and Pro Tools on the Mac, but Im looking for something to maybe take me off the grid of corporations ramping up prices just because it’s audio related.

Synaptic runs on KDE too.
You can install ardour from the 6.06 repos, but then you’re stuck with some 0.9 version. So best - as already suggested - upgrade to 6.10, then 7.04 (feisty), and then add the ubuntustudio repo’s (www.ubuntustudio.org) to install low-latency kernel and ardour 2.0.

You guys were right. All of the distros that I got in .iso form were somehow damaged. The only one I have had success with was kubuntu 6.06 which I got this evening. I have also been reading that there are tons of issues trying to run linux on Dell, so I retried all the disks in my IBM lappie. they didnt work there either. The only one to work was kubuntu. I may try and get Ubuntu 6.06 or fiesty again, but that will be later since my PC is acting really wierd again. Just another reason I want to move to Linux. Im tired of fighting windows and microsoft.