Audition audio works but transport monitor/playback does not.

I’m new to Ardour and Jack so it’s possible I have something mis-configured but for the life of me I can’t figure out what. I have an Intel based iMac OSX 10.4.10. I am not able to record or play back tracks. I can, however, audition an audio file from within Ardour after importing it into the “Regions” area. I have aggregated the duplex in and out ports for the default Intel based iMac audio. JACK is selected in the dropdown box. JackPilot is set to use the Aggregated audio device. What am I missing? Are there some settings I haven’t found yet? I can’t get it to work on my Linux box either. Audacity works fine on the Mac so I know the imac is fine. However, when I select the JACK server as the default device for Audacity I get an error stating “Error while opening sound device. Please check the output device settings and the project sample rate.” I did… the project sample rate and device settings are all at 48,000 Hz & 24 bit. I’m using the QjackCtl and JackPilot interfaces to control Jack.

There are several places you need to set up your audio routing.

1. Make sure your aggregate device is shown in the JackPilot preferences as the ‘audio interface’ and that the sample rate is what you want – once you start jack, you can’t change these settings unless you turn Jack off… this is a pain if you have Ardour already up and running, because you have to turn it off as well.