Getting ardour working.... period.

Ok call me a complete newbie to this. i was using musix version of linux to run ardour 2.0 and it worked perfectly, jack made all connections, i hit play and it played :). Problem was it crashed often. not good when you almost done your masterpiece and lose everything cause the system crashes. i then discovered ubuntu media studio :slight_smile: looks awesome. problem is how do i get ardour to play something? jack seems to make the relevant connections but no matter what i do it plays back blank. Please assist me someone, or link me to a guide step by step. thanks

hi, perhaps you should go ->menu->options->monitoring->software monitoring

other ways check the option ‘autoconnect’ in the same menu.

cheers,
doc

The ‘software monitoring’ box is already ticked and the connections are on ‘autoconnect inputs to physical inputs’ and ‘autoconnect outputs to master bus’ thanks for the help but still no sound.

have you checked the alsamixer settings (mostly muted by default)?
do you get any sound out of an another appi?

cheers,
doc

The alsa mixer under soundapplications? I can get xmms working and system sounds work. Hydrogen plays. Could it have something to do with the jack settings? Does jack autoconnect on ubuntu media studio 7.04? Or do i have t connect it manually? Thanks again.

i think that jack should autoconnect, but for being sure have a look into qjackctl’s ‘connect’ window.

cheers,
doc

Are you using ardour? And if so on what linux package are you running it? :slight_smile: i been doing alot o thanking today. But here one more anyway. Thanks.

hmm, this is a ardour forum, so yes i am using ardour, the
one from the svn-ongoing branch:

svn co http://subversion.ardour.org/svn/ardour2/branches/2.0-ongoing

on a debian-testing linux.

but did you got any sound out of yours?

cheers,
doc