Compiling qjackctl-0.3.1a.

Okay, so I figured I’d give compiling the latest version of qjackctl a go. I’m on OS X 10.4.10 with Quicktime 7.2.0 installed. I extracted the .tar file to a folder entitled “qjackctl-0.3.1a” in my Applications folder.

So, I then opened Terminal, changed directories to the folder I created and then ran the command “.configure”. On the qjackctl page, these are the instructions:

The installation procedure follows the standard for source distributions. In the extracted source directory, just do:

./configure [--prefix=prefix]
make

and optionally as root:

make install

Everytime I tried running that command, I would get back an error message stating that “configure: error: invalid variable name: [–prefix” .

Now, please keep in mind that I’m a total noob to using Terminal, so I figure that I’d just take of the “[–prefix=prefix]” from the first line of the command. So, I did that and Terminal appeared to be compiling the program, but then the final line of the ensuing process stated that I didn’t have Qt 4.1 or greater. Here’s the exact verbiage:

checking for gcc… gcc
checking for C compiler default output… a.out
checking whether the C compiler works… yes
checking whether we are cross compiling… no
checking for suffix of executables…
checking for suffix of object files… o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler… yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g… yes
checking for gcc option to accept ANSI C… none needed
checking how to run the C preprocessor… gcc -E
checking for g++… g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler… yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g… yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor… g++ -E
checking for egrep… grep -E
checking whether gcc needs -traditional… no
checking for Qt library version >= 4.1… no; Qt 4.1 or greater is required

After that, I just get a fresh prompt line. So, I figured, maybe everything worked out fine. So, I typed “make”, then got this: