Slackware 12, problems runing ardour...jack?

Hello, I’ve sucessfully installed JACK+Ardour and all it’s dependencies, but whenever I try to run ardour, first that for running I need to run it as root(permissions…but no problem here), then, I always get this message when I try to start a test track:

the capture device "hw:0,0" is already in use. Please stop the application using it and run JACK again

Since I’m pretty new with jack, could you guys help me out?
I’m running jack like this:

jackd -R -n peacemaker -v -d alsa

And I run KDE as a Window Manager, maybe KDE is blocking things? I really don’t know even how to check this…Sound in Linux is a whole new world for me.

Thanks a lot guys.

Hi Zarnick,

I don’t use slackware but I am used to KDE. You probably have artsd (the KDE sound daemon) running in the background. Just disable it through the KDE system settings (System settings -> Sound System -> uncheck “enable sound system”) and restart jack after that. It should be all you need, unless your issue comes from e.g. a flash application running through an opened webpage, which you should close if this is the case because the flash plugin will busy your sound device without sharing it. So, as a rule of thumb, if disabling Arts does not work, try to spot every audio application that could run in the background (amarok, xmms, whatever) and terminate them.

By the way, once I set up my KDE environment as I wanted, I switched to openbox-KDE. It is more lightweighted and will preserve your KDE setup (panels, icons, menus). To the untrained eye, it will look as if you are running the full KDE. But you really don’t need that when running jack stuff, you want to prioritize the audio flow.

Thanks, it solved :smiley:
this is a very good piece of software, all I need is to find some VST plugins, specially an Equalizer.
Thanks a lot thorgal!

you’re welcome :slight_smile:
you could try this EQ : http://www.dontcrack.com/freeware/downloads.php/id/4016/software/Classic-EQ