How to get involved?

So if some random guy wanted to get himself involved in the development of Ardour, what would be a good course of action to take? Keep in mind this particular guy:

a. Has not programmed in C++ (or C or assembly) for, oh, four years or so, but would love to start again. Additionally, he has been a Linux-only user for a year and a half, but development on said platform would be new to me…er… him.
b. Uses Ardour semi-profesionally, and so would like to keep the stable version up and running next to the ongoing version.

I plan on downloading the development version and browsing the code. Anyone have any suggestions as to a good way to start wrapping my head around the Ardour code? Refreshers on C++ in general? Also any suggestions for cleanly implementing item (b) above would be appreciated.

I’m new to open-source development as well; Is there some etiquette I should know up front? For example, would it be prudent for a new guy to join the development mailing list, just to get up-to-speed with what’s going on?

I hope I’m not about to get in over my head… :confused:

You should drop into the #ardour channel on irc.freenode.net.
Not that I would call myself a developer, but I think you can forget about understanding the code base as a whole … you should pick a single aspect/feature of interest.

im not sure if it will work, but maybe scons PREFIX=/some/unique/path should work? you would have to start ardour with /some/unique/path/ardour2, but it might work (???) :slight_smile: