First mix, recorded with A&H QU-24

I am the main sound guy at a church and recorded this as a rough proof of concept to show the team what is possible. this is In Christ Alone, a multi-track recording done live on a sunday (so ignore the singers mistakes) morning done with the Allen & Heath QU-24 and edited in Ardour, featuring drums (kick, snare, 3 toms and cymbals) bass guitar, electric guitar, 2 keyboards and 4 singers. This is my first time mixing in software as I normally just do live so (constructive) feedback would be appreciated

https://soundcloud.com/andrew-newton-80888317/in-christ-alone-1st-revision

I don’t know if you can do anything with it (may be in the original recording) but the backing vocals sound like they are being recorded through a speaker with blown tweeters. They are “boxy” and have no “air” at all. (except for the back vocal right at the end comes through nice) So look for a peek between 100 and 200 hz to pull out and see if the high end can be opened up. That is the only glaring thing for me. (if all else fails use the level control to take that offending backing vocal right out :slight_smile:

Another proof that the whole concept of a singer who is a “star” is all promotion. There are great singers everywhere.

I don’t know if this is the norm with this style of church music, but it strikes me as drowning in reverb.
I appreciate that some magnificent recordings have been made in churches and cathedrals with huge reverberation times, but
in this recording it doesn’t sound to me like the natural reverberation of the church.
I agree with previous comment about the lead singer :slight_smile:

Hi,

I would guess like many church worship teams these folks are doing this in their spare time and eking out just enough time for rehearsals, so first, an impressive ensemble and good singers! The lead singer has a seemingly effortless range.