Trouble monitoring with headphones as I record the track

I haven’t used Ardour for about 3 years. I’m using it now again and it seems to work better than before. But, I’m not an expert in this field, more of a musician that just wants to record original music for myself. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, but when I try to monitor what I’m playing or singing into the system there seems to be a delay (latency?). It’s off to the point where it’s so distracting and hard to hear what I’m doing. I’m using a macbook and a Focusrite Scarlet 2i2. I don’t remember having this problem before when I used Ardour in the past. ???
Thanks

There is always a delay when you route audio through the CPU. The amount of delay is defined by the buffer size (also known as the period size in JACK) that you use with the audio interface (“soundcard”). For live monitoring, you need to reduce the buffer size as small as possible - the smallest possible value is a function of everything about your computer (not, however, its CPU speed; see http://manual.ardour.org/setting-up-your-system/the-right-computer-system-for-digital-audio/ for lots more detals about this). For most people, 64 samples is close to “no detectable latency”, but many computers will not be able to go this low.

Dobro you’re in the same position as mine, meaning to be more a musician than a audio technic.
I’m on Linux 64bit and use a Fast Track Pro, actually I only open Ardour without dealing first with Jack because I discovered I have less latency and xruns problems.
I’m recording at 48KHz, 128 buffer size and 2 periods. I don’t have latency or anyways it’s as low as I cannot hear it.
But it depends on the computer for the most. I have a i5-6200U @ 2.30GHz cpu with 8GB ram.
With the computer I had before, I wasn’t even able to make it recognize the soundcard (though it used to work on Windows).