Introducing AVL Drumkits LV2!

Hi,

Just passing along this screencast of the new AVL Drumkits LV2 plugin in Ardour 5.5 created by Robin Gareus:

More info here: http://x42-plugins.com/x42/x42-avldrums

Huge thanks to Robin for taking the AVL Drumkits to the next level!

Glen MacArthur, AV Linux Maintainer

3 Likes

Looks great. Great addition to linux plugins.

Wow! Great stuff! Thanks Glen and Robin! You guys rock!

Works great! I’m really enjoing it!

Hello! I’m new to Linux and Ardour, how do you install AVL on my Ubuntu Studio?

https://x42-plugins.com/x42/linux/x42-avldrums-v0.3.4-x86_64.tar.gz
Unpack it and put avldrums.lv2 into /home/username/.lv2 (or check README.txt)

Hi!!

I put it like this in the capture, but in ardor it is not to select.-

What could happen?

Captura%20de%20pantalla_2019-04-20_16-06-44

All those files need to be in a sub-folder ~/.lv2/avldrums.lv2 (and lower case “l” in `~/lv2)

cd /tmp
wget https://x42-plugins.com/x42/linux/x42-avldrums-v0.3.4-x86_64.tar.gz
tar xf x42-avldrums-v0.3.4-x86_64.tar.gz
mkdir ~/.lv2
mv x42-avldrums/avldrums.lv2 ~/lv2/

restart ardour to pick up the new plugins and look for “Black Pearl” and “Red Zeppelin”

1 Like

Thank you very much!!! Sound Awesome!!

For future reference: Visit the project page for the download link. Once there’s an update the direct download of v0.3.4 will not work anymore:

Hi Robin, I followed your instructions, downloaded and extracted the files, a directory was created and all the files was moved into the new directory, but when I restart Ardour I don’t see the plugins. I’m using ubuntu studio 19.04 disco dingo. It seems that there is no avl drum in the instruments in my Ardour plugins.

Please, can you help me?

The drumkits are called “Black Pearl” and “Red Zeppelin” - They should be listed in the dropdown when creating a new MIDI track, or in the plugin-manager under “Instruments”.

If not, perhaps check Menu > Window > Log (for some more information).

thanks Robin,