Create an audio file

Forgive my ignorance. I am new to this. What I want seems simple to me but please feel free to give me as much detail as possible. I would like to record myself speaking. Doing a podcast. I have my mac laptop hooked up to a mackie dfx12 with multiple inputs. I now need to just basically hit record and create an audio file. What are the steps I need to take to record? Please go step by step. Once I record is it in the right format to then upload as a podcast or do I need to run it through additional software? Thanks in advance.

Here are some resources that may help:

http://manual.ardour.org/toc/

@WATDutch,

I’ll try to write the shortest possible guide. I don’t have a Mac but Linux box, but I assume the procedure is the same.
I will also assume you hooked up your mixer’s “tape out” output to laptop’s “line in” input using RCA to 3.5 mm TRS cable.

1. Start Ardour.
    “Session Setup” window should appear. Click the “New Session” button.

2. You will be asked to enter a session name. Write any name (possibly select a folder if the suggested one is not to your liking) and click “Open”

3. “Audio/MIDI Setup” window appears. I would advise to leave everything as is and click “Start” (top right corner).

4. The main widow appears.
    Go to main menu: Track -> Add Track, Bus or VCA…

5. “Add Track/Bus/VCA” dialogue appears. Leave everything as is and click the “Add and Close” button.

6. A new track named “Audio” appears in the editor space. (you can rename it by double clicking on “Audio”…).
    To the right of the “Audio” (or whatever name you gave the track) and above a button with letter “P” there is a button with a circle in it.
    Click on that button and it will become bright red. Now you have armed your track for recording.