Kontakt and multiple midi tracks

Hey, Ardour noob here.

First of all, sorry for my english, I’ll probably make some embarrassing spelling and phrasing mistakes.

I’ve been using Ardour for a couple of days and I’m trying to understand the subtleties of the interface. I usually use ProTools/Cubase/Logic and this DAW, as wonderful as it is, can be very intimidating and confusing for a beginner, like myself.

I’m facing a problem that drives me crazy: I’m trying to route audio from each Instrument loaded in KONTAKT’s rack to separate midi channels.

Here’s what I did: I created a new bus track and opened Kontakt as a Vst plugin (like I usualy do in Logic) and I created several midi tracks and routed each track to my Kontakt track, but I didn’t manage to isolate each instruments, they play all together in unisson. I tried to change midi channels, but it doesn’t make any difference.

What I am doing wrong ? What is the procedure ?

Guise, please help me, before I go crazy, start crying and call my mom. She won’t help me anyway; she doesn’t know anything about Adour :slight_smile:

Thx

Windows 10 - Komplete Audio 6 - M-Audio Oxygen 25

When you say “tried to change midi channels”, do you mean editing the midi channel for individual notes, or using the track midi channel selector? Do you get different results during recording and playback, or the same?

Hi. With the channel selector :slight_smile: I opened a bus track with a Kontakt plugin and loaded several instruments (Spitfire Albion ) and now, I’m (still) trying to distribute each instrument (brass, strings, woodwind) on their own midi track (by right-clicking on the tracks and using the channel selector).To be honest, I don’t even know if it is the right thing to do. I can only hear the first instrument on the list. The other midi track don’t have any sound. Same results when recording and playback.