Exporting multichannel .WAV files

Hi,
I have a bunch (like, hundreds) of multichannel .WAV files, each of which I’d like to export as a stereo FLAC file. To keep things tidy I load the WAVs with ‘one track per file’, and if I export them one at a time it works fine, but if I attempt a stem export, it fails. Maybe it’s not possible to do a stem export of several multichannel .WAVs? I’m a complete noob at this and am probably doing something wrong, so any pointers would be appreciated.
Cheers.

Sorry, I’m on Ardour 5.12

Can you explain more how you are mapping from multichannel to stereo? By multichannel I assume to mean 3 or more channels; how many exactly? Do you want to export only two of the channels to a stereo FLAC file, or do you want to export all of the channels, but two at a time? Or do you mix the multiple channels down to two, and want to export the mixed two channel result?

If you all you are trying to do is get downmixed stereo versions of your original 5.1 files, then Ardour is not the right tool for the job. I think sox or FFmpeg could to this and you can also automate downmixing by writing a small wrapper script to feed the input files one by one to sox or FFmpeg.

By the way are you on Linux, MacOs or windows ?

Thanks for your replies.

I’m on Linux.

Or do you mix the multiple channels down to two, and want to export the mixed two channel result?