Digital RIAA

Is there an easy way of applying the RIAA Eq curve to a 24 bit file recorded direct from an LP cart. without any Eq ?

I am new to this, so a fairly detailed explanation would be appreciated.

Speaking as someone who has actually done it, as opposed to theorizing...

The Scarlett i2 will give you somewhere around enough gain (at completely the wrong input impedance to match the pickup) so you can probably rig something up with it if you are desperate

I fiddled around...

You would probably need to - see above

Singnal/noise on your 24bit recording should plenty good enough so you don't have to worry about applying the eq on the way in rather than inside the digital domain...

That’s not really the issue - I think its a given that you need at least some form of gain in the analogue domain, which your interface provides, irrespective of equalisation / compensation, so its not really about EQing in the digital vs analogue domain - my point was (speaking as someone who has, as I mentioned before, extensive practical experience of a huge amount of ‘this kind of stuff…’) that if you are compensating digitally to get better / more precise (RIAA curve) matching, its kind of redundant unless you have the correct pre-amp, and, you are unlikely to find a pre-amp designed to match the pickup correctly whcih doesn’t have RIAA built in, or, if you build / hack that yourself, then why not also build in the some good quality RIAA stuff too.

What your experiment proves is that you can hack this if you are desperate / not too bothered by the quality / or just lucky with the combination of hardware you have, but I still wouldn’t recommend it as the preferred solution. The best option is to do it properly with a decent phono pre-amp that correctly matches the pickup. That might be expensive, but this kind of thing generally is if you want good results.

Speaking as someone who has actually done it, as opposed to theorizing, I found it works quite well.