midi-sync

hello everybody,

i already asked some month ago, but now i try again (sorry about that, but this is really important for me):

i want ardour to send midi-clock. and i really need that feature!
an i think, that i’m not alone. there is a lot of professional equipment, that does not support mtc, but only midi-clock (and sometimes mmc).
to give some examples: a lot of grooveboxes work that way (clock and mmc - no mtc). a lot of professional fx work that way for synced-delays and stuff like that (even without mmc - only clock). a lot of synthesizers or keyboards, that do not have a sequencer use midi-clock for the appegiator or for syncing the lfos). and also very important for me: old analog synths (moog, sequencial circuits and all that old roland-, korg- and yamaha-stuff etc.) need midi-clock for syncing lfo or appegiator via a midi2cv-interface…
so for people who do electronic music (like me), its really very very important to use ardour.

i am not a programmer, but i think i should not be a big problem, to generate midi-clock put of mtc or smtp…

what about that idea?

would be great :slight_smile:

greetings
l.chaos

MIDI clock and MTC are completely different creatures. Most people don’t understand this.

MIDI clock is based on musical time: bars and beats.

MIDI time code is based on “absolute” time: audio and/or video frames.