Exported file has clicking not heard in Ardour playback

Hello,

I am new to ardour and Jamin, and was trying to use the two to better master a recording my band did a while back. I loaded in the WAV file, and got Jamin to properly work as an insert on the post fade master bus, and played around to get a nice sounding mix, however, when I export the file and go to listen to it, there are a number of really loud clicks as if its clipping that I could not hear while listening to the mix through ardour and jamin.

Does anybody have any idea what could be causing this, and why it only comes up after I export the new mastered mix?

Any help would be appreciated.

I went through the audio wave form and checked for any clipping, there were only 2 spots that were marked red that I reduced gain in, but there are far more clicks within the newly exported file.

Also, if this is useful, if i re export the file that I loaded into ardour, without using the Jamin insert, the new file plays fine, so i ruled out that its something buggy in my ardour exporting - and is definitely something I’m not seeing that Jamin is doing to the tune, I just don’t get why it doesn’t show up until after I export.

Thanks.

hello bballplaya344
I assume that signal outgoing from Ardour’s master out is too strong after going through Jamin, so you can plugin Jamin before master fader and use plugin Fast Lookahead Limiter (as i remember right) post fader. Use Normalize if your file after loading to Ardour has red dots of clips - mark file and press “n” to normalize. Oh, and maybe use limiter from Jamin too.

regards
Arek

bballplaya344, my guess is you’re having xruns that cause the clicks.
If you’re starting jack through qjackctl check how many xruns it reports before and after you run through the session. If it has increased you need to increase your Frames/Period in the qjackctl setup.