Why choose Ardour

It’s not a flame, mind you, and by the way, I’m new :slight_smile:

So, I’m a novice to DAWs. I have some limited experience on Nuendo, but I’d like to take further steps and learn to use DAWs in a more advanced way. So, I was looking for a nice platform, which I’d learn to use, maybe eventually actually recording and mixing something serious.
Now, I’m a Linux enthusiast. I perfectly know, though, that Linux is quite behind, in terms of productivity, in the sphere of multimedia, compared to Windows and Mac OS X (for various reasons: lack of software, lack of hardware support, etc.). Anyway, since I have a very “dry” approach to mixing and recording (that is, using as fewer plugins and effects as possible, achieving good results from the start), I could be able to live without all the “cool” plugins and just using those freely available on Linux.

So, why choose Ardour?

Keep in mind that I also have Windows installed on my PC, and that I really am not a “free software at all cost” kind of person (although I prefer using free software when possible). I know that, as a cheap alternative, there may be Reaper, which would be well within my budget. I know that Reaper works flawlessly under Wine as well, some saying even faster than under Vista (which may well be possible, although it seems a bit far-fetched to me). Reaper would seem a “saner” choice :smiley: but there is something in Ardour that fascinates me. You might say, download it and see, but I don’t really want to potentially waste time on a platform that may cause me problems here and there (although Reaper isn’t perfect, or so it seems, but it looks like it has more features and it’s better tested).

So, now it’s your turn :smiley:

boneless,