Problem with Audio Export

This is my first time in this forum, so sorry this topic is discussed the seconed time now.

I’ve got a Ardour XP64 on 2,5GHZ, 2GIG DDR, Ubuntu 9.04 with the ubuntustudio package. Latest version of Ardour for Ubuntu as package available 2.noidea

My Problem: I worked first time with Ardour. Before I only worked with Cubase 4 and SX3 for studiosessions. When I tried to bounce my tracks to a stereo-track with the export function, jack had about 30 errors and Ardour crashed completely. I use M-Audio Delta 1010LT. It seems that jack has problems with LADSPA effects during the export. If anybody has an idea how to set jack for my setup, please help me. I want to use it for my studio and finally to get rid of windows, without buying an expensive Macintosh.

Thank You!

Which means Ardour hung up just when I clicked “Export”. I also have a problem when bouncing a single stereo track with effects on it with the “Bounce” function in the sequencer.
steroids

Tanks @ Joe. I’m gonna try this asap.

@ Philip: Ardour worked really well until the export problem. And if this is solved it’ s simply perfect. I had so many problems with windows. It happened two times that I wanted to start up for clients, and I had a bluescreen. That’s no longer acceptable. So first I tried Ardour, and it really comes next to protools. If this development goes further on, I don’t see any problem in using it for clients. As long as using analogue effects as well and not only digital effects… And Ubuntu is a lot more stable then windows will ever be.

Flame away… but ubuntu and the word “Studio” should never be in the same universe together. A blunder at best. This is not in response to your post Joe. Great tips for a newcomer. I just think of the hours I wasted hacking and hacking on that gimmick. This linux audio thing could be a lot easier.