An Organic approach to building the User Manual Documentation for Ardour ?

Hi

I’m a pretty serious hobby musician, guitarist and home recording enthusiast.
I’m a relatively recent convert to Ardour after getting very fed up with legacy OS and Win music software in general.

I am a real believer in the principles of Open source.

Frankly I’m amazed at just how lucky we are to have such a wealth of software and generosity out there from experts like Paul and others in the open source community.

So, to my point…The User Manual …

Having recently made the shift to Linux and Ardour as my working DAW, the one thing i see holding back the conversion of non-programming newbies like me who just want to use the musical tools, but appreciate the open source philosophy, is the initial challenge of getting to grips with the Ardour program , after using other commercial apps like Cubase.

I’ve found many useful guides, and one-off how-to’s out there , but no coherent manual. Though it neccesarily comes at the end the priority list for the developers ( and I can see why ) , for the user it comes near the top. Especially if a user really wants to unlock the true power of the program and appreciate how Ardour differentiates itself, and how it adds real value to the creation process compared to much of the commercial apps.

Having read other posts about the development of the User Manual it seems to me that the essential issue here is resource time and man hours to focus on it.

My suggestion is therefore that there should be a twin track approach to resolving this - which I believe will get a solution in place - which will then open the door for many many more users migrating from their existing Win/Mac based commercial DAW platorms.

Here’s the idea…

1. The official W.I.P manual sits on Ardour.org in an evolving state - maintained by the admins or “intellectual property” owners.
  2. A new category is added to the discussion Forums…