(Newbie) Delta 1010 Recording Levels

Hello Ardourians!

I am a relative newcomer to DAWS in general, but I have some experience with Linux, analog audio recording and live sound mixing. I have a lot of experience with music performance and PC building in general. I built the following system to demo the Ardour software, and create live music recordings for local bands:

Tyan S2866A2NRF
AMD FX-60
4 GB DDR 400
Fanless GeForce 8400 GS
M-Audio Delta 1010
Raptor 74GB for /
2 X Caviar Black 1TB on LSI RAID 0 for /home
SM Pro Audio 8 channel mic pre’s

I got 64studio installed, no problems. Making sense so far. My main question at this time concerns controlling the level of the signals being recorded by Ardour. Please tell me if I am correct here, or if i am way off base…

The Delta 1010 has a hardware mixer on board, that is intended for setting up a monitor mix. The signal routing inside the Delta 1010 and the various monitor mix levels are controlled by envy24control. Jack then controls all of the connections between the Delta 1010 and Ardour. So, is there a way from inside Envy24control to adjust the actual levels being recorded by Ardour? I see where Paul has said Ardour does not in any way change the levels being recorded to various tracks. If this is true, is adjusting the source level (at the keyboard, at the mic pre’s, punching the singer, etc…) the only way to adjust the recorded level?

Next, while tracking, if you are using the hardware monitor option to get the lowest latency and system load, are the faders in Ardour on each channel used for anything?

Also in this scenario, the Ardour faders ARE used for leveling during mixdown, correct?