'Mastering' tools?

Hello,

I plan to switch from XP to Linux (Fedora Core 5) to do my audio ‘mastering’.
I am an amateur in the audio-processing world and until now I used the Waves DirectX plugins for multi-band EQ, multi-band compression and muli-band limiting of live recorded stereo audio.

I am informing myself by looking around and asking and so far Ardour looks like a good platform. What extra’s (programs, plugins, etc) should I use to get close enough to the functionality of the Waves’ plugins?

What other software should I consider that has no Waves’ equivalent?
(i.e. & e.g.: deep FTT sonograms with filtering in the time and frequency domain? filtering/processing based on direction? etc etc etc)

Please post! Currently I am backup up the XP box so I can start real soon!

ano

http://jamin.sf.net/

'nuff said. :wink:

Thanks for the tip.
The limiter of Jamin is also multiband? Or At least very usable?

Cedar Retouch-alike functionality?
Filtering based on direction?
(e.g. more EQ for stuff right from the 2 o’clock position, or more compression on the bass)
DeNoising?

The limiter is not multiband. Jamin has good documentation on what it does. For example:
http://jamin.sourceforge.net/en/routes.html

Thanks for the info. Jamin still looks usable.

What softare does multiband limiting?

Or the other tricks I mentioned in my previous message(s)?
I just don’t want to miss out on these very nice products!

Maybe also an ‘exciter’ or subharmonics synth? (exciter for bass)

Most important for now is an application that does dithering from 24 to 16 bits. Any ideas?

Check out ‘louderbox’ as well.
http://www.spamblock.demon.co.uk/louderbox.html
8 band compressor+limiter+clipper.

Sounds pretty good to me, but you have to be careful you don’t mash it.

why do you believe you need this?

When going from 24 to 16 bit one needs dithering to avoid problems.
I found that Jack does dithering. Would that suffice?