Installing Linux & Ardour/using midi controllers?

Yes, I am a complete newb! To Linux and Ardour that is. I’ve been using Sonar on PC and Reason on Mac for many years.

I am hoping someone can explain the steps to do the following>

Install Linux on a PC that has XP installed. I’d like to Reformat and have a clean install.

Install Ardour

Install my DA interface (M-audio)

Configure it so I can use midi controllers (Keyboards, Akai Wind EWI USB, etc)

Also, could I install my VSTs? they are PC only.

Does Ardour have a Softsynth (like the TTS-1 for Cakewalk, etc?)

Sorry for all the questions, I’ve never even seen Linux in Action, but I would also like to know if my midi/audio latency would be lower than on Windows?

Last question, does Propellerheads Reason work in Linux? If so, what changes would I have to make for it to work?

Thanks so much in advance for your help,
Ed

he wants to use windowze-programs in Linux for getting more performance…sure a paradox…Windows-soft works best in windows, obvious.

If you use linux-soft you can achive what you want, less latancy and less requierd sys-recources

A newcomer to Linux whose main intent is running Ardour? I have no doubt that Ubuntu is the best route to go in most situations.

@pleasebeus: Ubuntu is, at present, a suboptimal choice if you want to use your Linux system as a serious audio workstation. This is true today (March 15th 2010) - it may change in the future.

@paul Ubuntu may be “suboptimal”, but if you’re completely new to Linux I’m sure you’d agree it’s going to get you on the road more quickly than any other distro.

This leaves time to get on and learn Ardour. Once you’re reasonably familiar with Ardour, you can junk Ubuntu and go for a more optimal distro for your h/w and/or work process needs.

@capoeira: actually, some users of Reaper have been reporting that it works better for them, on their systems, under Wine on Linux than it does on Windows. This isn’t a general rule, however.