M-Audio Fast Track Pro

I’m totally new to Ardour and can not get my m-audio fast track pro to function. The audio set up reflects the following: Driver: ALSA and Interface:ALC262 Analog. The only other choice for interface USB Audio #1. I’m currently running Ubuntu 9.10. Are there any drivers I should have loaded? Help!!!

This device should work out of the box for you, despite it will only function @ 16 bit mode and only using the 2 analog inputs in the front. If you install qjackctl, you will be able to choose the right inputs/outputs in Fast Track Pro. I wrote a quite nice guide for it in my blog to make it run @ 24 bit, I have not tested the digital inputs/outputs and other functions but it works well under 24 bit for me with analog ins.

IF YOU WANT/NEED 24 BIT MODE YOU WILL HAVE TO:

1. download, patch and compile new RT-kernel
  2. do some quite tweaking to the system
  3. use two kernels in your system, generic for everyday use and rt just for audio work with this specific device.

The payoff is worth it, better quality, but if you are just going to do demos or “play” around without getting into heavy mixing where you don’t care much about headroom, I strongly advice to not do all this then… 16 bit will do.

My guide is located here: any questions or comments just post them there:

http://www.joegiampaoli.com/blog/?p=462