Auto-deleting unused regions?

6 replies [Last post]
audiodef
User offline. Last seen 5 days 19 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 2009-08-29
Posts:

I'm starting a new project in Ardour and I'm wondering if it's possible to automatically deleted regions when I delete the associated audio. I've done several takes on two tracks, and after the final take, I have a long list of regions for those two tracks. I haven't even done anything requiring regions yet. Or is there perhaps a region purge function?

seablade
User offline. Last seen 2 hours 53 min ago. Offline
Joined: 2007-01-22
Posts:

http://ardour.org/files/reference/dsy289-ARDOUR.html#dsy342-ARDOUR

Seablade

audiodef
User offline. Last seen 5 days 19 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 2009-08-29
Posts:

Lovely, thanks!

audiodef
User offline. Last seen 5 days 19 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 2009-08-29
Posts:

Another thing about regions I'm wondering is, after cleaning, I'm left with a bunch of regions followed by a number in square brackets, and at the bottom of the list, four regions that can be expanded to show items of the same names under them. These also have a number (2) in square brackets next to them.

I only have four tracks, and haven't created any regions independently of the number of takes I did during record. Why would I still have, for example, Bass-4 [2], Bass-3[2], Bass-1[2], Bass-2[2], and Bass-6[2] - this last expands - after doing a clean-up?

paul
paul's picture
User is online Online
Joined: 2006-03-16
Posts:

the square bracket-contained numbers show how many channels the region contains. you apparently have takes 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 in use somewhere.

kokkinizita
User offline. Last seen 3 years 30 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 2010-09-18
Posts:

http://ardour.org/files/reference/dsy289-ARDOUR.html#dsy342-ARDOUR

In 4.1.11.1: "This will attempt to search all snapshots for the session as well to ensure that no snapshots are using any audio files before they are deleted".

In 4.1.11.2: "This is on purpose to ensure that you check for any snapshots that might be affected since the automated cleaning of unused sources only checks the currently open session or snapshot."

So, what happens ? Are all snapshots (in the session) checked or not ?

seablade
User offline. Last seen 2 hours 53 min ago. Offline
Joined: 2007-01-22
Posts:

Heh the dangers of rendering out a WIP;) There were conflicting reports, it is apparently supposed to check all snapshots, but you should check them all as a backup. I never had time to go back and double check to ensure it was checking all snapshots so both notes are in there, sorry about that. Always be safe rather than sorry.

Seablade