Sidechain for a total noob

Hello all. I have searched all over this forum, found a few posts about using SC LADSPA plugins. (I’m on ubuntu.) I’ve tried to emulate what other people are doing, but I seem to be failing. I have never really dealt with sends before in ardour, so that might be the cause. Essentially, I need to sidechain a bass against a kick, so that the bass goes down when the kick volume is high, etc. I’ve been adding an SC3 plugin, but I get an error stating that “this plugin is bugged, there are 3 inputs and only 2 outputs, unless it is a sidechain plugin.” Well no shit ardour, THIS IS A SIDECHAIN PLUGIN.

But even if I do get that working, I’m not really too sure about how to work the sends. Do I put the kick input in it’s own, first send, and then have two bass inputs in a second send? Thanks.