Possible new user here. Interface questions

Hi,

I’ve been trying Ardour and Jack for about two days now and my experience has been very good so far.

My previous daw experience includes Cubase, Ableton Live, Tracktion and Reaper, so I’m not a newbie.

Still, the sheer power of Jack and Ardour’s audio engine have impressed me a lot. Also, I like that the interface is not cluttered up like with certain other daws. And it has OSC support! That alone has made me forget about Reaper for the moment. So, I seriously consider donating whatever I can afford.

But before that, I have three questions and a bug report (was there a movie with that name?):

Is there a delete key that works on all objects? I’ve learned that I can use fn+backspace to delete regions but this doesn’t work with tracks or plugins

Where are the midi control maps stored?

Is there a way to run Ardour without gui? I plan on among other things using it as a Mixer/Recorder for Supercollider and I fancy it would be cool and freeing some cpu recources though probably kind of dangerous.

A bug: If you right click in the prefader section of the channel strip, select an action and immediately after that right click there again, the menu pops up but you can’t select anything. After you’ve clicked somewhere else it works again.

Anyway,
thanks for Ardour and Jack and if I ever get my Firewire interface to work on Linux I’ll try that too.

Cheers,
Axel

First response got lost so retyping:(

Is there a delete key that works on all objects? I've learned that I can use fn+backspace to delete regions but this doesn't work with tracks or plugins

No intentionally. If you have delete mapped to delete tracks, every time you try to delete a region you would end up deleting a track. That being said you can remap keybindings however you wish, I haven’t looked for those particular ones, but you can check int he keybindings window to see if they are listed to map whatever keys you wish to them.