Problem exporting projet

Thank you very much for this great software.!!!
I’m new on ardour, and I’m new in sound editing too…
Sorry if it’s a banal question or if it’s a banal problem.
I edited a recordig ,(The original recording I imported is flawless) I did a lot of cuts to have a flawless track.
All sound very very good and very very great.(No red peaks in the mix and I have only a stereo track)
The problem is when I export.
The resulting wav file is distorted in the loud points and “strange” in others.
If I open this file with audacity I find a lot of red peacks never seen in the ardour project.
I tried to put an amplifer and to put it to -5 db.and export all.
It sound better (without red peacks in audacity) but it’s not perfect , in some points sound seem at the edge of distortion…

What’s the matter?
What could I do?
Have I to use compressors?
Is it a problem about my pc and soundcard?
I’m on ubuntu maverick and on an Asus PRO62J notebook with integrated souncard.

Thank you in advance, sorry for my english… and if It’s a problem previous discussed… sorry and, please… a link…

Greetings

Hi guys
Sorry I have an other problem exporting.
I’m using vst rev plugin.
I use it in send way and not like an internal plugin, because I need preset, internal plugin has not.
So it’s like an external program .
All sound very very great…but always problems when I export
The resulting file is full of scratch noise etc…(there are no red peaks,only noise and scratchs)
(I payed attention to select only master trak when I export)
I notice when I export red head cursor continuously stops an goes.
Where is my mistake in exporting?
I solved in this way:I record the master in a new track and I export it in a second time.In this way the result is great
Is there an other faster way to export ?.

Thank you in advance.

Carmar

Thank you Paul!!
Good to know.