Behringer V-amp as midi controller. Is it possible?

7 replies [Last post]
LeatusPenguin
User offline. Last seen 2 days 12 hours ago. Offline
I have had a Behringer V-amp for awhile now but only in the last week actually found out that the software for it actually runs flawlessly on Ubuntu. I got very excited about this, seeing that i was able to control my V-amp from the computer. I have never used a controller on Linux before so i decided to look up on how to do it to see if i could use my V-amp as one. I found this guide -

http://ardour.org/generic_midi_control

I checked it out and followed every step. I used Patchage as my MIDI patchbay and everything seemed to hook up fine. I got right up to the stage where the message "Operate Controller now" comes up. This is where it seems to end unfortunately. I turn knobs but Ardour doesn't respond. Bit disappointing. So, is it possible to do this? As i have never connected up a controller before i could very well be missing something fundamental. I was able to control it with Behringer's Windows software through Wine, so i imagine it must be possible to get it working with Ardour as the computer does recognise it. I have heard of people using them as controllers so it would be great if i could get it working, even if just for a few basic controls. Anyone have any idea's?

paul
paul's picture
User offline. Last seen 1 day 4 hours ago. Offline
Step one is probably checking what messages the V-amp is sending. Outside of ardour the simplest thing is to use gmidimon or kmidimon. I'be reasonably confident that your problem is a connection one, but checking the nature of the messages comes first I think.

LeatusPenguin
I just installed kmidimon and hooked it up. Every control I move is recognised but i'm not sure exactly what I am supposed to be looking for and how to apply it.

paul
paul's picture
User offline. Last seen 1 day 4 hours ago. Offline