Ardour DAW - Open Source and you must pay for a it?

Ardour - Open Source = Free to use or not?

Today (April 26/2011) (Sweden)

When i tried to download this DAW, the main reason where that it where Open Source and free.
When i tried 2 download it, it said i have 2 pay for it because it had a “free download limit” thats been reached for the time(?)
I am a qualified Music producer and i support the open source idea, but the developers can´t say it´s free when you have to subscribe with paypal!

I am 24 and because i have health problems (i have a kind pension because of this!) i do not have the economy for it.
i get 7000 SEK = 1 098,37 USD!!!
Other Open Source Software in this quality are made by on the developers free time. why do the Ardour Dev. Team ask for money when other Open Source Developers do not?

I am Dissapointed because of this…

Please comment this Topic!!!

CYAA // Bassemann

I just subscribed to Ardour cause this is one of the best and most promising DAW systems to come along! Been using ProTools for years and purchased Mixbus a few months ago and am very excited about the sonic quality and functionality… I have spent thousands on DAW software over the years and while ProTools has served me well, Ardour/Mixbus is the future in my humble opinion.

Thank you for your hard work Paul!!!

Why do you think open source absolutely, categorically means free as in no money? The GPL does not preclude charging for your product. The main point behind open source is that the source code is freely available ie free as in freedom to do what you want with the source. Ardours source code is always available for download from the SVN server for no money and under the GPL so you can do what you like with it.

Ardour is a professional product, not a part time hobby, the fact that the main developer, who’s project it is, has decided to make it open source shouldn’t mean that he is somehow barred from making a living.