how do i record audio from a flash file on a webpage?

hi ya’ll. this program sure looks sweet. i just downloaded it for fedora core 5 linux. i’m using the italian interface (btw, how do i change it to english?).

i was wondering how to record what is being played by the speakers (what is this called? line out?). i was playing a flash video from youtube and was wondering how i could record the audio of what was being played. they play stuff in flash so if it was a downloadable avi or something i could do it with mplayer/mencoder, but its not. i am a total sound mixing newbie.

thanks for any help =)

when i start jackd i get:

JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
loading driver …
creating alsa driver … hw:0|hw:0|1024|2|48000|0|0|nomon|swmeter|-|32bit
control device hw:0
the playback device “hw:0” is already in use. Please stop the application using it and run JACK again
cannot load driver module alsa
no message buffer overruns

when i start jack_capture it says:
jack server not running? (Unable to create jack client “jack_capture”)

are you using qjackctl?
if not, you should!
in my qjackctl setup there is a `artsshell -q terminate´ entry.
that runs as a script, before jackd will be started!
if any other sound deamon is working on your machine (oss, arts,) jackd will not start.
perhaps you can do a reboot an make ps ax to see what is runing pre default, after a fresh reboot?

cheers,
doc

Nickelus: obviously, another program is using your soundcard. Jack needs exclusive access to the sound card to run in full-duplex. You should try running jack in capture only mode and see if that works.

i ran alsamixer and this is what it said at the top when i pushed F4:
Card: Intel 82801DB-ICH4 Chip: SigmaTel STAC9750,51

but i didn’t see anything about PCM/Wave there in the options…only these:
3D Contr 3D Contr Line CD Mic Video Phone IEC958 P Aux Capture Mix

i’m on a dell inspiron 510m laptop btw

Thanks for your reply =)