Ardour in batchmode?

Hi,

is something like

$ ardour --batch-export --format=wav --samplerate=16 --dither=none sessionfile.ardour result.wav
Reading sessionfile.wav … done.
Connecting to jack … success.
Setting up jack connections … done.
Exporting … 100%
Exported 3min32 into result.wav
$

possible?

I would like to write some perl script that sets up a session file and then calls ardour to do the downmix.

Thanks.

Johannes

@johmue: “possible” is an unfortunate word. if you’re a programmer, then sure, its possible to do something like this. we have, somewhere, an example of a minimal C/C++ program that loads a session, for example. but possible for a user to do ? not at this time.

Hi Paul,

thanks for your answer. Let me ask differently: I am not a professional programmer, but I can program in C++. I have no experience in gtk though. Can you estimate the amount of work to do something like that in lines of code to write? Would it be in the range of 50, 500, 5000 or 50000? Take away the all the command line options. Just a program, that loads a session file takes care of the jack connections, exports the downmix of the sessionfile and then finishes.

Cheers

Johannes

I had filed a feature request along these lines quite some time ago:

http://tracker.ardour.org/view.php?id=3179

Curious, what is the advantage to you, in being able to do this? Do you normally prefer to run your system from the command prompt?

@Ricardus

I can give one BIG advantage to me, but I have a somewhat specialized workflow. But that is being able to export a session from the commandline, means that I can tie it into a VCS with my Ardour session. So when I update my VCS copy of a session it automatically generates a new export for myself or others to listen to and I can keep working on other things (Which right now exports of the sessions I edit take between a half hour and an hour in most cases where my CPU is obviously maxed limiting my ability to work on other projects).