Ripping my hair out

Hey All
Im new around here but have been running ardour for about a year on my dirty old bone of a laptop with linux, and had no real issues figuring it all out with the jack settings and running various LV2 plugs, and even bought the package from linux dsp, which are awesome to say the least. But I never even considered doing a production on it, because well, I have been using the same system since about 2004 and I am fast and self assured on that system.

Rewind to last week. I inherit a powerMac g5 dual core thingy, and I decide to give it a go to mix my last production with ardour, and I am losing my mind with all the problems that are arising. Ive been lurking on the net reading all kinds of documentation on the software, and every user manual that I can lay my eyes on, but I tell ya, its a very hard process.

First off. Im mixing, and I get stutters and stops even with what in my opinion is not a very heavy plugin load. I should mention that Im using Mixbus by the way. The version of jack control for mac osx is a nightmare. I cant set up anywhere near as much as I could in qjack, and well If I wanna record a small part in a project after the mix starts, I can just forget about it, because my wrestling with the disk buffers and dsp overload has me occupied enough as it is.

So run my butt down to the corner convenience store for 4 gigs more of memory, which means that this machine now has 5 gigs of processing power and 6 gigs of memory and it cant keep up with my garbage picked windumb computer that is running on 1/3 of the power. This cant be possible. I must be missing something here. Ok, one weak link is that Im using my old Zoom h4 as a usb sound card, but windumb swallowed it like a cold beer on a saturday night.