more efficient linear time stretching shrinking

First of all let me say that I’m new to Ardour, but from what I’ve seen and experienced so far it’s an awesome piece of software and I look forward to using it a lot.
So I’ve been looking for a more efficient workflow to accurately stretch or shrink (speed up or slow down) a piece of music.
The use case is the following:

1. I have a somewhat longish piece of music, say 20 bars with 4/4 time, loaded as a region on a track. It’s just a wav file, I have no other information.
  2. I can discern particular beats somewhere in the middle of the music that I want to match to particular beats on the track.
  3. I want to choose two points on the region (the beats that I can discern) and two points on the track and have the entire region stretch or shrink (linearly) and shift so that the points on the region match the corresponding points on the track.
    Is it possible to do this now?:
    I’ve tinkered with the software and looked in the manual and forums and my most realistic option to do this appears to be:
  4. To split the region at the beats that I can discern,
  5. then shift the resulting “middle” region to the desired starting beat along the track and
  6. then stretch / shrink it to the desired ending beat along the track.
    The problem here is that I have no idea by how much to shrink stretch the new surrounding regions in order to keep the tempo consistent. Is this possible?
    Using Rhythm Ferret is essentially similar to the previous approach but even more problematic because:
    I could end up with dozens of small regions that I now have to:
  7. Inspect manually to see if splits are in the right place, (assuming that I can discern the correct locations)
  8. Merge and re-split as necessary (assuming that the previous step is possible)
  9. Stretch to the desired locations along the track
    Seems like a simple task just grew exponentially and with uncertain results to boot.
    Should this be possible?: