New user and Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 with Ardour

Hello All,

I am a new user to Ardour and wanted to share something to start with.

Basics: I have a Gigabyte EP45UD3R motherboard, 8 gigs memory, ATI4870 graphics card,
Dual core processor, E6600, can’t remember. I boot onto a old 160 gig experimental drive with grub/Ubuntu 11.10
I have Windows 7 64 on another drive. I installed Ardour the other day. I am also new to DAWs so I am a noob
in that respect.

Ardour first pass:
I installed, no problem and tried to use it with my USB Scarlett 2i2 Focusrite. I have 2 monitors hooked to the rear outputs of the 2i2. I tried to record a single track with my guitar plugged straight into the 2i2. I chose USB as the interface whn opening a new project and let the defaults stay as is. There were two USB choices but all it said was USB nothing else to differentiate between them.
No matter what I changed I could not get a signal to track one even with record enabled. I tried everything I could think of.
I got up the next morning and all of a sudden I though of one thing. I disconnected my USB Mic/Headset restarted Ardour and bingo we have plenty of signal. I adjusted the Scarlett inputs and recorder two different tacks one panned full left and one track2 centered L/R. I played for 2 minutes and listened to the garbage I produced. Here is where I got real interested.
Interesting

Result:
I had been messing with Reaper on my Windows 7 64 setup. I know how to strip windows down and ended up with only 36 processes running, got rid of the visual candy and setup for a DAW inline with what Pro Tools recommends. I even recorder to a separate hard drive as PTools suggests.
No matter what I did in Reaper with the latest USB drivers for the Scarlett installed I still got pops and clicks.
So I boot into Ardour record onto the same old EIDE hard drive that Ubuntu 11.1 and Ardour are on, play back the result (no plugins).