... write a plugin?

Hello forum,

I am brand new to Ardour due to a class in uni, where we shall portrait different Open Source projects. To get the points we are obliged to participate in those projects. On a first thought I decided to try programming a plugin for an open source DAW. Since reaper isn’t open source, I am lucky to have stumbled across Ardour, which seems to fit perfectly for this kind of project.

The problem is though: I don’t have a clue, where to start. I have your basic knowledge in C and SDL, but that’s pretty much it. On the other side I am highly motivated to do this, since I always wanted to do some sort of plugin for a DAW. The kind of plugin has yet to be decided, but there’s a whole semester coming, so I guess, I have one or two moments to spare.

My question is now: Who can give me starting points, hints and tips on this topic? Who might have done one by himself and can help me to get the whole process rolling? I am especially interested in the way I will have to implement it in Ardour and all this structural aspect. But the most important question maybe: Where do I start?

If this doesn’t seem too douchy to you, I am grateful for any advice and help you can offer me.

best, Malte

I am not a developer so can’t give you any specific information about writing a plugin, but hopefully this helps as a starting point.

Plugins in Ardour are usually in the LV2 format (it also supports the older LADSPA format. Plus when running on OSX it can use AudioUnit plugins.) More info at http://ardour.org/plugins

(Note that because Ardour uses JACK you can also run Linux VSTs or even some Windows VSTs in an external host and route to and from them from Ardour.)

With that in mind a good place to start would be at the LV2 site - http://lv2plug.in - this site contains info and documentation about the LV2 format as well as some example plugins that would probably be useful to you.